Brussels, 12 September 2018 – Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) have today approved MEP Axel Voss’s updated version of the European Union’s (EU) Copyright Directive, along with an amended version of Article 13.

Of the 751 MEPs voting in a full plenary in Strasbourg, 438 voted in favour, 226 against and 39 abstained.

‘We are delighted with today’s vote, which is a clear victory for rightsholders,’ said ICMP Chair Chris Butler. ‘Article 13 of the Directive is necessary to redress the grotesque imbalance music publishers face online and we urge Mr Voss and his team to stand firm in their upcoming negotiations with Member State governments.’